General

Something to Train For: GoRuck Tough

After a prolonged period without my computer (logic board failure), I am happy to be able to write again.

I have written a few times about the importance of fitness as it relates to marksmanship (here and here). I have also theorized about what kind of “load” I might carry in an imaginary “grid down” situation. I have made some tweaks to that equipment since September, but the overall weight was about 55 lbs.

That weight by itself honestly doesn’t seem like much, especially compared to the massive loads the military is often known for carrying. However, it is harder that it seems. Since writing that post, I’ve read quite a bit both professionally and personally on the realities of carrying loads in combat situations. Eventually, I went out and attempted it for myself with normal clothes and a backpack loaded with 30 lbs of weight. I found that while the weight is workable for a leisurely stroll around the block, things actually get much more difficult as the miles add up and the pace is kept brisk.

All the cool gizmos in the world don’t amount to a hill of beans if you can’t actually get yourself into position to use them (or, if you get there, you’re too gassed to be functional).

In an effort to “put my money where my mouth is,” I signed up for a GoRuck Tough challenge later on this summer. The challenge will last between 10-12 hours and cover 15-20 miles. It involves a lot of physical challenges and a huge dose of mental toughness to push through and succeed. Unlike the other physical challenge events like Spartan Races and Tough Mudders, the GoRuck event is not a race. It is a team event where you rely on those around you, and they rely on you, to get everyone to the other side.

With the money committed, and a team of friends (who are also participating) to keep me honest, I have no choice but to challenge myself to develop new skills and push my own fitness levels higher.

What are you doing this year to challenge yourself?

1 thought on “Something to Train For: GoRuck Tough”

Comment

