General

Break Break

It took about a year and a half, but I did finally hit the burnout point, hence why posts have been a bit sparse. I’ve taken the last month or so to focus on some other areas of my life, particularly another recent promotion at my job and a short distance move to accommodate future family plans. I also earned a new personal record on my fitness test, which was quite exciting. Shooting just has not been high on my priority list, and I haven’t really had much to write about.

But, now that those events are in the past and I feel rejuvenated. During the move, I had a chance to sort through a lot of my “stuff” and decide what to keep and what to eliminate. Most of my shooting gear made it, but it made me realize just how much stuff I own. As it stands, my shooting “stuff” is spread between a full safe, my wood war-chest, and a collapsible shelving unit. I do not intend to eliminate any of it (cleaning equipment is a significant portion of that bulk, for instance), but I do think it’s time to further simplify what I use on a regular basis.

I started this blog with the intent of becoming the model of an average guy who is a “good shot” (as Colorado Pete once put it). Having an entire room dedicated to “gear” goes a bit beyond that ideal as most people don’t have the kind of resources to build such a collection. With that in mind, I’m making some revisions to the blog and my practice.

In main menu, the one titled “Current Equipment List” has been my way of showing everything I’ve been working with. Two complete rifles, multiple slings, an extra upper, a pistol, and a variety of support equipment all made it into that photo. While this page still only represents a subset of my complete gear horde, I want to break it down even further.  That page will become: “What’s in my Crate?”

I’m referring specifically to the wood crate that I built earlier this year to store my shooting gear. But, figuratively, I’m talking about the “dusty old crate” that kept Granddad’s old war stuff in it to be taken out on special occasions. The purpose of the crate is to show what equipment I think the average-joe marksman should be keeping at the ready for all of their basic marksmanship needs. This could mean items suitable for hunting, target shooting, or even defense of the homeland. In reality, the same set of carefully selected equipment could perform all of these roles well enough. For this reason, I want the crate exemplify the “man with one gun.”

On a similar note, I started this blog with an eye towards practical marksmanship. My fear is that I have begun focusing too much on competition-oriented methods and equipment. This is not to say competition is a bad thing, it is not. But it’s also not what I set out to write about. I want to return to the roots of being able to hit what I aim at, and not necessarily point values of groupings.

With that in mind, a recent post by Rifleslinger at The Art of the Rifle reminded me that time is always a commodity. I seem to have less and less of it lately to practice things I want to practice. If I intend to continue pursuing marksmanship excellence, then I need to start putting my time where it generates the most benefit. His recommendation is to shoot in the offhand, and that is exactly what I intend on doing for the next several weeks or months. Improving my stability in the standing position will directly help my steadiness in the other traditional positions.

More to follow.

Comment

