General

Quick Updates

Sadly, my Triad shooting mat is gone. I carelessly left it at the range three weeks ago along with my target stand. The stand was returned to the range office, where I retrieved it last weekend. The mat, however, is gone. It’s a pity, too, as Triad apparently no longer makes the mat in ATACS-FG, which I really liked. So I guess I’m in the market for a new shooting mat. I may get another Triad, but there are a lot of other ones out there as well. If you have any recommendations, shout them out.

Second, I’ve started working on a new section of the site. You’ve probably seen the ‘Marksmanship Skills’ tab on the main menu. I’m modeling this partially after the work that Rifleslinger has done on the Art of the Rifle Blog. I will slowly be filling it in over the next few weeks. The idea is to consolidate all of my findings about a given subject area into quick and easily referenceable pages. I plan on keeping these updated with my findings and shooting results. There’s not much there right now, but it will grow.

Last, I want to give a quick shout out to Tactical Machining and their great customer service. I had an issue pop up with a 308 lower receiver of theirs (tolerance stacking). They paid for the shipping label for shipping it to them and, within 24 hours of receiving it, offered a replacement with no questions asked. I’ll try to keep things here updated regarding that project. I’ve been planning a 308 AR for several years now, but never fully committed to it since I’ve been working on other skills and didn’t have access to a range that would let me take advantage it. I figured it was better to buy ammo for the guns I actually practice with in oder to build up my skills.

Comment

