General

Well, That Would Have Been Good to Know Last Year…..

Came across a thread on M4C talking about the very same Independence 55 gr 5.56 that I’ve been shooting for most of the last year may be extremely hot and causing lots of issues. In addition, the brass is apparently very soft.

Now, the thread is about 7 months old, so the information may be outdated at this point. I also don’t know what lot number I was shooting, so I can’t compare. If I had a chronograph, I could have gotten more data about how this ammo was shooting. I didn’t notice any pressure signs on the brass that I’ve cleaned up, but I also don’t reload yet and might not know what to look for.

In any case, I”ll likely be switching over to the newer 69gr SMK loads for the rest of the year.

Comment

