General

Quick Update

Appleseed shoot is coming up in two weeks. I traded a couple emails with shoot boss concerning whether or not my rifle will be permitted, and it looks like I’m in the clear. The wording on their site is geared towards people out of state who are not familiar with the maze that is California’s assault weapons laws.

Having not attended an Appleseed before, I wasn’t sure how much ammo to bring. The average I’ve found from various message boards is 400-500. So I ordered a 420 round box of Federal M193, and I’ll bring along another hundred or so rounds just in case. Apparently, I’m also going to be in the minority in that I’ll be using a 5.56 gun for the entire event (rather than a .22), and even more so that I’ll be doing it with iron sights. I’ll be bringing along Ascalon’s upper, or even just a second rifle (just in case).

I’m unsure if I should grab a pair of elbow pads. Some have suggested that they are good for the amount of prone we will be shooting, but I’m leaning towards just relying on my shooting mat.

Not much else to report at the moment.

3 thoughts on “Quick Update”

  1. A most emphatic “YES” to elbow pads. Or stick-on moleskin. You WILL be glad you did.
    And definately wear a long-sleeve shirt. Not only does this help keep the skin on your elbows intact, it’ll help prevent “Appleseed tattoos” (brass burns from your neighbor). Wear long sleeves and elbow pads/moleskin no matter how hot it is predicted to be. Long pants too. Hot brass has an uncanny habit of winding up in the crook of your elbow or knee, and just sitting there….sizzling. You can HEAR it sizzle in your sweat even through your hearing protection. Imagine how that FEELS. Oh…and don’t wear dark colors either. 😉
    Trust me on this!
    And bring plenty of cold water/juice/pop (no caffeine). Sunscreen, bug repellent, a good shade-making hat compatible with ear muffs, and a comfy chair.

    Strangely enough, it is now far easier to come by .223/5.56 than it is .22 rimfire, so you may not be alone in your choice on the line.

    1. Thanks for the heads up! I was looking at some hard sided elbow pads, but I feel like they would be unstable in the prone. Another option I’ve seen used for shooting are neoprene volleyball elbow pads. I think those will be the best option.

Comment

