General

A Question of Lubrication

I know the focus of this blog is marksmanship, but I thought this was too interesting not to share. For those of you, like me, who do a lot of shooting with AR-15 platforms, there is a lot of choices out there when it comes to lubrication. One of the most important things you can do to keep an AR running well is keep it well lubricated.

To date, I’ve been using Slip 2000 EWL for oil and Slip 2000 weapons grease for other components. Generally, I don’t grease my ARs (though I have seen some use it on the bolt cam pin). But I do grease the slides on my pistols, the lugs on my M1 and M1A, and the engagement surface of my bolt gun. I’ve never had any issues with this arrangement. But I have been hearing a lot about other products on the market that I’ve never tried. I happened across a thread the other day that involved the most thorough testing of various gun cleaning/lubrication products I’ve seen. Granted, they were more in the abstract than in actual weapons performance, but if you keep that in mind and combine it with scuttlebutt around the web, things fall into place.

In short, I think I may put in an order for some FrogLube.

Check out the thread here

Comment

