General

No News is Good News

The shooting has taken a temporary backseat to the rest of life for the moment. I received a small promotion at work (but one I’ve been wanting for a while) that has turned my casual 8-10 hour day into 10-13 hour days. On top of this, I’m back at finishing my last two masters classes. Additionally, my ammo stores were drained while training for the competition that wasn’t meant to be.

That said, I’ve still gotten dry fire sessions in whenever possible. I feel very good about shooting at points around the house from stable field positions, and I’m really itching to get back to the range and put them to work. I’m also about to “pull the trigger” on that new BCM 20″ government upper I’ve been wanting for a long time now.

Funny story on that. About two weeks ago, I was reading up on BCM’s new KMR rail that they’ve been including on many of their builds. I had a moment of rather strong indecisiveness as I was trying to decide if I wanted to skip the government upper and get a 20″ upper with a 13″ KMR free float rail. Presumably, this would be significantly lighter than the plastic handguarded version, and help me avoid worrying about free floating the barrel later. However, I would lose the pinned FSB that was part of my original goals. In lieu of that, I would have attached a Daniel Defense fixed front sight in the same position.

Now, I had to remind myself why I started this whole journey in the first place. I wanted to get good with standard equipment, not the fancy stuff. I’m not good enough to notice the difference between free float and non-free float at this point. And, If I wanted to potentially use this rifle for CMP competition in the future, it requires a M16-A4 style quad rail rather than a slick-sided keymod rail. So, in short, I decided to stick to my original plan and get the standard government upper with plastic handguards. Though I may get a smaller front sight post for just a bit of added precision.

I’ve also run into some ammo supply problems. It seems getting the FGMM 77gr .223 is a bit more difficult than expected. I’m going to switch to Southwest Ammunition’s 77gr Run’n Gun loading, which has garnered several high marks from shooters I respect. Spendy, yes, but my actual round count is far lower than it used to be on a typical range trip. I think the value-gain per shot is much higher now than it ever was before.

1 thought on “No News is Good News”

Comment

